Communities In Schools began in 1999 after local leaders became concerned with the dropout rate in Dublin/Laurens County. With funding from Communities In Schools of Georgia, the South Central Health District, and $25,000 from the community, Communities In Schools of Laurens County, Inc. was born.

Front of Building


· Mr. Jeff Alligood - Board Chair- Department of Juvenile Justice

· Judge Tommy Bobbitt - Magistrate Court Judge

· Mrs. Beth Crumpton - Executive Vice-President, Heart of Georgia Technical College

· Dr. Lawton Davis -  Vice- Chair - District Health Director, South Central Health District

· Mr. Leard Daughtey - Director - Oconee Regional Library

· Rev.Elgin Dixon - Pastor - Greater Macedonia Missionary Baptist Church

· Mr. Alphonso Durden - Treasurer - Store Manager, WalMart Super Center

· Mr. David Westerfield -Senior HR Director, Mohawk Industries

· Ms. Emily Kight - Kight Law Group

· Mr. Morris Knight - Associate Superintendent, LaurensCounty Board of Education
· Dr. Chuck Ledbetter - Superintendent, Dublin City Schools

· Mrs. Penny Mackey -attorney - Robertson and Mackey

· Mrs. Sylvia Rozier - Secretary - Nursing Department Chair- Heart of Georgia Technical College

· Mr. Jay Studstill – Area Manager - Georgia Power

· Mrs.Laura Travick - Retired Educator

· Judge William Tribble – Juvenile Court Judge
· Mr. Tim Veal - Nichols, Cauley, & Associates PC

Board Member Emeritus

· Joanne Hilburn

· Claretha Pullin

· Chief Robert Drew


Copyright 2007 | Web Design by Matt Moseley
Communities In Schools of Laurens County, Inc.
300 North Elm Street | Dublin, GA 31021 | p: (478) 274-0394